Knit, Inc

Crochet Magic

Posted on: July 7, 2013

Crochet. The craft that has previously eluded me. I made one successful foray into the world of crochet previously with reasonable success, but I hadn’t picked up a hook since except to fix a dropped stitch. Until now. Look!

DSCN1012

Pattern: South Bay Shawlette from Lion Brand Yarn

Yarn: Debbie Macomber Blossom Street Petals Socks. Approx 3/4 of a skein. Gorgeous yarn but very sticky. Ripping back was no fun. Definitely use this one from the outside in!

Hook: 5.5mm

Once I got the hang of this, it was a really easy pattern. Definitely one I’d make again for gifts etc. I am SO proud of this! I can properly crochet now!

Inspired by my success, I was in the newsagent and spotted a magazine with a crochet special insert. It had to be brought home with me. I immediately hooked on for a table runner/placemat/coaster set:

DSCN1021

I’ve made two placemats so far and I think they’re looking pretty good. The pic is before blocking so it should flatten out nicely. Yippee!

 

In other news, it was my wedding anniversary on July 4. 15 years. FIFTEEN. Holy crap. Where has the time gone? My lovely Dad bought us a beautiful bouquet of flowers:

DSCN1019

Aww. He’s such a pet. There’s a big party planned for his retirement from the choir next Friday night. Should be good fun! The last one ended with me having to bring him home at 12.30am! Mad. I was falling asleep, he was having a ball playing the organ with the band.

 

In delicious news, I was in Aldi the other day buying veg & fruit for hubby. He bought a juicer recently and it’s revolutionised the way he eats. You wouldn’t have gotten a vegetable into him if you had a gun to his head, now he’s juicing beetroot, celery, broccoli, carrot etc along with nommy fruits like pineapple, grapefruit, orange and apple. Anyway, all this increased fruit and veggie intake is making large inroads into my grocery budget, so I headed to Aldi and am really surprised at the selection and prices of their produce.

I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw 250g punnets of cherries for 79c. 79c! That’s redonkulous! They’re usually about €3 in the other supermarkets. I literally pounced and bought 4 punnets, knowing exactly what I was going to make. Cherry pie. NOM. I’ve never made one before (because the cherries were so dear) but every time I saw one on tv I drooled. And rightly so. This picture might look like a messy lump of pie, but believe me it was the nicest pie I’ve ever had. Ever. Juicy sweet and not enough. I could’ve eaten until I burst.

photo

Needless to say the pie is all gone, but I’m heading to Aldi tomorrow to buy more. I wonder how they freeze? Should I freeze them raw or make another pie and see if I can get it to the freezer before me & the rest of the family devour it?

 

Good knittingcrocheting!

3 Responses to "Crochet Magic"

I’d freeze the filling in pie-sized portions (unless you just put the fresh cherries in the pie). You should then send multiple pies over to me to help defeat the NZ winter! Bravo on the crochet too – it still defeats me utterly.

Here, bags of frozen cherries are often much cheaper than the fresh (which are also very pricey), so I keep an eye out for frozen fruit sales and stock up in order to make my pies. Not sure if there’s a big difference in the taste, because I’ve never made one from fresh!

unfortunately there’s no aldi close to me (being without car), but I’d buy a lot of things in there. it’s all fine and well to say buy irish – but our irish supermarket only has cherries in tins, which taste revolting (and I doubt that the cherries were grown here). same for many other things, quite apart from the higher prices…. and I am sure you can freeze cherries easily! it’s just that they get a bit mushy after de-frosting, but that wouldn’t matter for a pie. looks yummy enough from here – with icecream no less:)
enjoy the cherries while they last!
Bettina (from mayo, where it feels more like mallorca just now:)

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 32,840 hits
wordpress stat
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 840 other followers

