Knit, Inc

Decimals

Posted on: September 26, 2011

I’ve never been good at maths. It’s one of those subjects that didn’t “click” with me in school, so I’m surprised that I find myself using it so much.

I work in tax (God knows how that happened) so I’m calculating percentages and costs all day. I’m amazed that I manage to get any of it right! Before that I was an IT Manager (more maths) and a web developer/programmer (tons of maths). It’s all around me.

Then there’s knitting. Knitting should be taught in schools as a way of seeing maths in action, in my opinion. Every step of the way when I’m knitting a garment, I find myself counting, adjusting and I’ll admit it, guessing. Or should that be guesstimating? Either way, I’m relying on my addled brain to produce the right figure.

Take my latest project, Decimal as an example. I wanted a cardigan for a summer dress I had bought, I saw this and fell in love. It’s perfect, I thought.  It’s in a size that will fit, and it’s flowy and feminine.  Perfect for a nice dress. So, I took all the necessary measurements, picked a size and cast on.

As I was knitting, I was thinking. Thinking is not good, I start coming up with weird & wonderful ways to make the garment better or different. I should know by now, you’d think.  But no. So, I’m knitting away and I think to myself, I don’t want this cardigan to be so long. No biggie there, just make the body length shorter. But no, there’s neckline decreases and if I change the length the stitch count won’t match up. I’ll figure that part out later, I say, and I finish the body where I want it to be.

I start on the first sleeve, and I think, I don’t want the sleeves to be so long, wide, or so flared at the ends. So I rip back. And calculate how long I want them to be. Using my gauge I work out how many stitches I want it to be and pray that the stitch count is mentioned somewhere in the sleeve directions. Joy! It is! So I cast on that number and get going. Only problem is, it’s for a different size than the body I’m making. So my stitch count there doesn’t match either. I’ll figure it out later, I say and carry on.

 

And that’s where I am now!

Decimal Cardigan

A shorter than directed body, and a shorter than directed sleeve. I’ve to knit the second sleeve, and then try and make sense of the mess that will be trying to join the sleeves to the body.

Maybe I should have paid more attention to the title of the garment before I started. The pun is not lost on me. Maths. I can’t do it, but I sure do use it a lot! Here’s hoping it will all work out, I’ve 3 weeks to finish it before my holidays….

Good knitting!

5 Responses to "Decimals"

I like the colour, hope it all works…

Well the colour is fab if that’s any consolation and it will be perfect with the dress 🙂

It’s looking great and I’m willing to help with any maths tomorrow!

I find it hard to believe math isn’t your thing! It’s looking great so far and I’m sure you’ll work it out.

FOUND YOU! 🙂 Will update my bookmark! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 49,046 hits
wordpress stat
