Knit, Inc

Return of the (knitting) Jedi

Posted on: November 10, 2011

I’m back! I had an absolute ball. The weather was fantastic, I had lots of chilling by the pool and some cool road trips too!

This, though, was definitely the highlight of my trip.

I met Alton Brown! He was doing a book signing an hour from where we were staying, so how could I not go? We queued for 4 hours to meet him. It was bananas in the store. He’s a truly lovely guy, we had a great chat with him, and he asked for our address, saying he’d be visiting Ireland next year. Now I don’t expect to hear from him again, he’s a very busy man, but it made us feel good all the same. Alice was awestruck. It was really sweet. She loves Alton. She thanked him for teaching her so much about cooking and he was really lovely to her. Definitely the highlight of the holiday.

By the way, spot the Decimal cardigan? Oh yes, I brought the handmades to the party. 🙂

There was some stash enhancement, too. Not as much as previous years, but quality stuff all the same. I also discovered two new yarn stores this year! We went to St. Augustine for the day, which is about a 2 hr drive from where we stay. We took the A1A coast road home (voted in the top 10 best US roads to drive) and hopped off at Ormond Beach to visit a new store, The Ball of Yarn. I also discovered the Brandon Yarn Boutique when we went to Brandon to meet Alton. Both lovely stores with really nice owners. I couldn’t not visit my favourite store in Orlando, Sip & Knit. I adore that place. Of course, I bought something at each one!

Let’s get down to it. From WEBS, I bought this:

Berroco Ultra Alpaca and

Berroco Ultra Alpaca Light, to make this cardigan I’ve lusted after from Vogue Knitting for ages.

I also got a skein of Berroco Ultra Alpaca Fine for socks. I used this before for my Pointelle Socks and loved it.

This was a total impulse buy, some Cascade Alpaca lace paints. Mmm.

This stuff is gorgeous, Cascade Eco Cloud. Dreamy. I think a big chunky cowl.

Cascade Heritage Silk. Oh boy.

Regular Cascade Heritage sock yarn. Fab colour!

This I bought in Brandon. Kolláge Sock-a-licious yarn. Pretty!

This was a total bargain. Lion Brand Sock-Ease No 1.

and No. 2. The two skeins for $10.

Alice got a knockout Little Black Dress while there, and asked me to buy this to knit her a shrug. It has sequins in it. Sparkles!

Possibly my favourite of all. My beloved Pagewood Farm yarn. This one is Glacier Bay in the Orange Spice colourway. Drool.

Workhorse yarn, again on sale. Patons Classic Wool Merino. $2.50 a ball.

More sale yarn! It seems I got a good few bargains! This is Deborah Norville Serenity sock yarn. A steal at $2.50 a ball.

This one was a curiosity. Zitron Unisono. Never heard of it before. It wasn’t cheap, but the colours are rich and subtle.

I also got these adorable Hiya Hiya stitch markers with the cutest little pouch to store them in. Little balls of yarn!

I got a ton of notions from Knit Picks, including a yarn scale. I’ve wanted a good accurate scale for ages, and this one is correct to .5g.

There was a lot of knitting done, too. 8 1/2 hr flights each way, plus long road trips, plus lazing by the pool = lots of socks!

turned into a pair of Waffle House Socks for Alice.

These socks were a much bigger challenge, Wedge:

This was attempt No.1 which turned out HUGE. I recast on, and got going. I finished sock 1 and was feeling good until I went to graft the toe:

I don’t know if you can make it out from the photo, but I made the toe on the wrong needle so it was sideways on the sock! Jeez. Rip. Again. All sotred now though. I cast on for the second sock last night.

So, phew! There you have it. I’m back to the madness that is work leading up to the Budget, so I’ll post as often as I can but it’ll be patchy for the next 4 weeks. Oh, and if I’ve missed commenting on some of your blogs, I’m sorry. My reader list is hundreds of posts long, and I just don’t think I’m going to get to them all.

Good knitting!

5 Responses to "Return of the (knitting) Jedi"

I love the way you match Alton’s tie 🙂

Welcome home!

Lovely Vogue cardigan. Looking forward to progress pics whenever you get to it.

So glad you had a good time and our weather cooperated! How cool that you met Alton Brown; seems I’ve been watching him on TV forever.

That’s a lot of yarn, go you! Love the socks.

What a fun, fiber-filled trip! Thanks for sharing! Love the family photo with Alton too!

[…] enjoyed making these socks, even if I did have a mishap with the first one. BUT, I’m not so sure about their wearability. All the short row wedges […]

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 48,804 hits
wordpress stat
