Knit, Inc

Surprise!

Posted on: November 28, 2011

I love surprises. Who doesn’t? Well, a group of us on Twitter got together and decided to do a Christmas swap type surprise thingy. We called it Knitmas. Rules were that you had to make something, gift something from your stash and include a surprise. The package had to be posted by December 1st.
Not one to rest on my laurels, I got cracking. I know the date was December 1st, but with work & the budget, I knew I would be too busy over the next week to get it there on time, so I decided to be the early bird and do it this weekend. I decided to deliver my package by hand for reasons that will become clear in a moment, and hubby gladly offered to be my Postman Pat. šŸ™‚

For my something made, I chose the Ballyragget Hat by Carol Feller from her faboo book Contemporary Irish Knits. (I reviewed the book here)
I knit it using some Cushendale DK I had in my stash, in Charcoal. Yummy yarn, it was lovely to knit with. Shame about the dark colour though, the twisted stitches don’t really show up very well. šŸ˜¦

For the rest of the swap parcel, I included a skein of Cherry Tree Hill sock yarn, a skein of Rowan Kidsilk haze in a gorgeous deep purple/aubergine colour, some stitch markers, beads and a little cross stitch kit.

Then I got a bit carried away and decided to bake some yummers treats. Of course, this involved a test-run as I’d mever made them before. Once I’d made them and we’d scoffed the lot, I reckoned it was a safe bet to give. (Hence the need for Postman Pat)Ā Behold, Peppermint Squares:

You can’t really see them in that picture, I thought it was much clearer than that. Aw. They were super yummy though.

Of course, I had to include a handmade card too…

I thoroughly enjoyed making up this surprise parcel. My Knitmas swap pal is a lovely person who has been very good to me over the last year with my parents troubles. I figured it was the least I could do to say thank you.

In other knitting news, my progress continues on the secret sock monkey:

I’m actually almost finished it, I have the second arm on and the tail is almost done. I just need to sew the eyes afterwards. I say just, like it’s something that’s easy to do. Yeah. Might I remind you of this debacle?

 

Good knitting!

5 Responses to "Surprise!"

That sounds so fun! We have a Texas group and if you want you can do a secret Santa. I always do. It’s a lot of fun for me to get things together for her. I’ll have to take pictures too!

Fabulous gifts! I feel like I should go back and put my parcel together again!

Wow, what great presents! Love everything you did.

Peppermint squares you say? mmm.. sounds amazing! Recipe? šŸ™‚
(and love your sock monkey!)

[…] so much fun! Last year I got a fantastic haulĀ and hopefully my swap pal was pleased with her goodies. This year,Ā I was gifting toĀ Doogarry. Sadly for reasons unknown to me,Ā I don’t have any […]

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 49,042 hits
wordpress stat
