Knit, Inc

The Perils of Toy Knitting

Posted on: December 3, 2011

I know I’ve been told many times (and have said it myself too), but toy knitting really isn’t my bag. Ever the optimist though, I’ve tried it again.

I finished this hot water bottle cozy this morning. It only took me since June to finish!:

Pattern:Feel Better Buddies (Ravlink) by Daniela Nii
Yarn: Lion Brand Homespun in Montana Sky and Earth
Needles: 4mm

Ugh. That’s the best I can say about this yarn. It’s squeaky, nasty acrylic that seems to be a half spun string that’s loosely wrapped around a thread. It comes apart at every opportunity and the fabric is uneven. Gauge is an impossibility with this stuff. The worst thing is, I have Homespun in the colours to make the other two cozys in that pattern as well! Egads.

I’m not overly happy with the bear face, but I suppose it’s ok. At least it looks like a bear. I don’t know what to do with this now, Alice has seen me make it so it can’t be a Christmas surprise, and I’ve no-one else I can give it to. I’ll see what happens.

So, that’s toy No. 1. Onwards to toy No.2:

Pattern: Patons Sock Monkey (Ravlink)
Yarn: Patons Merino Classic in Light Grey Marl, Aran and Bright Red
Needles: 3.5mm dpns

This guy looks much better, I think. he seems to enjoy hanging around my bedroom window.

Just chillin’. But then, he turns around. *GASP*

Look at the size of his tail! I think I may have attached it a little too low, too.

Um. When he stands like that, he reminds me of this:

So not exactly a resounding success. Ah well. I’m pretty sure Alice is going to love him. While I was knitting him, I kept thinking of this scene from Mr. Magoriums Wonder Emporium. So sad!

In other non-toy related news, I’ve finished the main part of Alice’s Christmas shrug:

Sorry for the crappy photo, it was taken at night on my iPhone. Now I just need to pick up 204 stitches around and rib for a bit. Just! Ha! I’ll be at it for ages

Good knitting!

6 Responses to "The Perils of Toy Knitting"

Yeah, you SAY you’ll be at it for ages but I’ll bet you have it done in 3 days. Maybe that’s ages by your speed

The monkey looks like he’s wearing a lot of lipstick!!

I like the monkey – turned out fun! If extra long-tailed. 🙂

I don’t think one can avoid the Peg Leg reference with this project. Not to mention…er…other comparisions.

Lovely job!

[…] Alice loves knitted things. I’ve already made her a Sock Monkey, but I wasn’t stopping […]

The Rolf Harris video comparison to the Monkey is too funny! I am really liking your blog!

Leave a Reply

