Knit, Inc

VanDammit

Posted on: December 4, 2011

VanDammit.

I blame Denis Leary. Ever since I saw him on MTV Unplugged years ago, I have used that phrase whenever something goes horribly wrong. Mind you, I don’t use the Jean Claude VanDamme accent that he does, but the sentiment is the same.
I know I said yesterday that it was going to take me ages to pick up the stitches and finish Alices shrug. I was wrong. I have Boardwalk Empire to thank for it. 3 episodes last night had me almost ready to cast off, and the stupid neighbours dog yapping had me up early enough this morning to finish it off.

So why VanDammit, I hear you say? Well.

Look at it. It doesn’t fit right. There’s a big pouch type thing at the bottom of it.

See? It’s also quite close fitting around her arms. Thank goodness she’s not a muscle-y kid.

It also doesn’t exactly cover her front very much, does it? Sigh. I followed the pattern to the letter, got gauge, got correct measurements on blocking. Everything. Sigh.
I guess it will do, I mean it doesn’t look hideous, but I so wanted it to be right for Alice. Sigh.

So now I have nothing on the needles! That doesn’t mean no WIPS, just that there’s nothing on any needles. I have two single socks looking for partners, but they’re for me, they can wait. I’m trying to think of any other gift knitting I can do. I have some teddy sweaters to make for Alice, but they’re handy enough.
Oh! I almost forgot! I have a half completed Aeolian shawl calling my name too. VanDammit.

I was asked for the recipe for the Peppermint Squares I made for my Knitmas pal, so here you go! Beware, they are super delish. Especially with a cup of tea. Mmm. Enjoy!

Peppermint Squares:

Cake base:
2/3 cup self-raising flour
1/2 cup plain flour
1/4 cup cocoa
1/2 cup caster sugar
1 egg, lightly beaten
125g unsalted butter, melted
Mint:
1/4 cup cream
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 tablespoon liquid glucose
2 cups icing sugar, sifted
Peppermint extract
Icing:
100g dark chocolate, chopped
1 tablespoon cream
40g unsalted butter

Preheat oven to 180C(350F). Line base & sides of shallow 27 x 18cm rectangular tin with baking parchment.
1. Cake base: Sift flours and dry ingredients into a bowl. Make a well in the centre and pour in the egg. mix lightly and then add the butter. Use a wooden spoon to mix them. Press into the base of the tin well and bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until a skewer insterted comes out dry.
Set aside and allow to cool.
2. Mint: Combine cream, oil, glucose and icing sugar in a pan. Stir over a low heat until smooth and creamy. Add a few drops of peppermint extract, to taste. Mix well. Remove from the heat and pour over the cake base. Smooth with a spatula and allow to set.
3. Icing: Combine cream, chocolate and butter in a pan and stir over low heat until smooth.
Spread over the mint layer and refigerate for 5 – 10 minutes until the chocolate has set.
Remove from the tin and cut into 24 squares.

Scoff!

4 Responses to "VanDammit"

The shrug looks lovely. Most of the pieces you aren’t sure on are typical shrug drawbacks. It’ll be lovely on with her dress 🙂 also must make those mint treats! I’m a mint fiend!

How difficult would you say they are to make? I’m tempted to try them.

Oh no! Peppermint chocolate cravings!…

Happy shawling 🙂

Thanks for the recipe! Am definitely going to try these over the Christmas holidays 🙂

Leave a Reply

