Knit, Inc

Photo Envy

Posted on: January 14, 2012

I envy people who can take good photos. I really do. Try as I might, I can never seem to get those killer shots that take a project from wow to WOW. You know? I wish I could do it better, but things conspire against me.

1. Working full time. This means when I get home there’s no light left to take photos, and weekends are blurs of housework here and housework in my parents.

2. Hubby getting home later than me. This means I usually end up enlisting Alice to take the photos, and she’s no Mario Testino. Then again, she is only 10, so I’m still hoping.

3. I’m not exactly what you’d call photogenic. I do try and think of interesting poses, but not always with great success!

4. Equipment. Well I guess I’ve no excuses for this one really. Hubby has a Nikon SLR, but I don’t know how to use it. Sigh. I end up using my little Olympus camera that has recently begun to die. It takes about a minute after taking a picture to recover before it can take another one, and it’s losing it’s focusing ability.

4. Location. I’m sure you are all sick to death of seeing my brown carpet or raggedy sofa & footstool for pictures such as this:

Pattern: Wedge Socks from Knit. Sock. Love. by Cookie A

Yarn: Pagewood Farms Chugiak Hand Dyed Sock Yarn (My fave!) in Snow Pea

Needles: 2.5mm Knit Picks Harmony dpns

I enjoyed making these socks, even if I did have a mishap with the first one. BUT, I’m not so sure about their wearability. All the short row wedges make the socks kinda bulky. I think they’d squish in my shoes, so they’ll probably end up as house socks. Another WIP from 2011 done! Only 1 left….. and it’s done too! Yay! Go Me!

Pattern: Aeolian Shawl by Elizabeth Freeman from Knitty

Yarn: Hedgehog Fibres Silk Lace in the Magic Mushroom colourway, all 1km of it. Yes. 1km.

Needles: 3mm Knit Picks Harmony interchangeable tips

This shawl darn near killed me. I started it at the end of July and knit half way, and then put it down until Jan 2. I then managed to plough my way through the second half of it in just 5 days! Madness. The cast off took forever. BUT, it’s turned out amazing, if I may say so myself. It’s enormous! Wider than my arm span, anyway. I think it’s beautiful. God knows when I’ll get to wear it though, it’s not the kind of thing you could wear to the office, is it?

So, how did I manage to knit the second half in just 5 days, I’m sure you asked? Well. It’s because I am an ex-smoker.

That’s right, since 2  January 2012 at 9.30pm, I am no longer a smoker. It’s been hard, let me tell you, and I won’t deny that I’ve slipped up once or twice along the way, but I have never lasted this long off cigarettes before, and I’m going to do my damndest to stay off them this time.

I think that’s enough of a new years resolution for anyone.

Good knitting!

13 Responses to "Photo Envy"

Your shawl is AMAZING! Wow. Gorgeous. I do wear some of mine to my very casual office. Go for it! You make an excellent ex-smoker. Stick with it, no bother to you as you’re such a strong lady.

The shawl is beautiful! And so big – 1km of yarn?! It’s definitely a WOW! I can’t believe you finished off the shawl in 5 days. Well if that isn’t reason to stay off the cigarettes I don’t know what is. Keep going!

I am so proud of you for keeping off the cigs! I could hug you. Keep it up. You’re a great woman!
LOVE that Aeolian! Delighted it’s turned out so well after all the effort. Great it’s so big. Who cares whether it’s suitable for the office. Wear it and be proud!
Love the colour on the socks. Interesting pattern. I know I’d go for that too. Good to know about issues re fit in advance.
D

Well done you for stopping smoking. But that’s funny about knitting half the shawl in five days!!!

I hear you about the Olympus camers. Sigh. Mine is the same; it’s pretty old and is so darn temperamental. Sometimes i zoom in, and it zooms back out before it takes the picture. And anything that needs the flash looks woeful. And it needs to get its breath back between photos. I should probably use the kids’ cameras – they both have better digital cameras than me!

Congratulations on not smoking! Good for you. This is a great way to start the year. I’ve never been a smoker but I can only imagine how hard it must be to stop, from everything I’ve heard.

The shawl is AMAZING! And that photo is beautiful. Don’t sweat the photos. Not everyone works at home to take pics all the day long.

Nothing wrong with a pair of socks for around the house, either — I have some that are strictly for “bed wear.” As long as they keep my feet warm is all that matters. 🙂

AMAZING shawl!!! And fabulous you’re off the fags!!! For me it’s been 12years and 14 days. And a few hours. Just remember that the strong cravings only last a minute or two. Minute 3 and you’re safe again…………………….

That shawl is stunning!!! Absolutely wonderful work!

As for the smoke stop. I wish you well and I’m with you all the way!

YES YOU CAN! 😉

Oh my god! That shawl is AMAZING! Go you!

And major congrats on the no smoking thing, I’ve tried and failed three times already, building myself up for trying again later in the month (when all the duty free stash has been smoked through!). Good luck! :o)

The shawl is just beautiful and hooge! As for the photos, I know what you mean, I love photography but always end up feeling like I’m not getting exactly what I want and not sure how to get it. For poses and angles and photo ideas I take inspiration (copy) the ones I like from Ravelry. You get a better sense then of what works and what doesn’t.

Well done on the not-smoking! It’s one of the hardest things I ever did in my whole life but so worth it, so I’m behind you all the way!

(Lovely shawl too!)

The shawl is *gorgeous* – I am very impressed! (And good luck with the cigs – that’s a hard hard habit to break, but YOU are a KNITTER!)

I just took Franklin Habit’s class on photographing your fiber and what I took away from it is that a light tent makes indoor photography much much better and it can be constructed pretty cheaply if you think like MacGuyver. I have the same issues. I also got a teeny tiny tripod for Christmas that I’m going to be using to point the camera for my sock pictures, but I also have sock blockers, so that’s another option there.

But yeah, it’s all about the light. I have the same only-see-my-house-in-the-dark issues.

I consider myself a non-smoking smoker. Or, I suppose on nights at the bar, I’m a smoking non-smoker. I gave up on the guilt and am glad that you are able to admit the “slipups” too. My goodness, smoking and knitting at the same time? Add some chocolate and it’s a TRIFECTA! Love your blog, thank you for being here.

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 49,042 hits
wordpress stat
