Knit, Inc

The yarn that doesn’t want to be knit

Posted on: January 16, 2012

Looks fairly inocuous, doesn’t it?

Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece. 9 skeins of it, 1935 yds to be exact. I bought this on my first USA trip as a knitter, in 2008. I was so excited to get it, I was planning on using it for a Cable-Down Raglan. Yep. Never happened.

Then I saw the Flutter Sleeve Cardigan in Interweave Knits and I thought, that looks good! So I knit it. And didn’t like it. So I ripped it with the intention of making an Owls sweater. Yeah. That never happened either. I tried to make Alice a cardigan, but she grew out of it before I’d finished. Rip again.

I put it away for a while, thinking I’d find the project for it some day. I’m still waiting. I’ve gone through 50+ pages of Ravelry patterns, asked Twitter friends, swatched like mad and still have come up empty. My most recent effort was swatching for Fulmar. Not for me, mind, but for Alice. My plan was  to modify it to fit her and knit it in the round. I swatched. Didn’t like it. Rip.

What do I have to do to find something to knit with this yarn???? I think we are destined never to meet as knitter and FO. I’m so frustrated.  I think I’m in a bit of an indecision funk.

What I don’t have indecision about, however, is these two beautiful patterns: Sheep Heid and Rams and Yowes by the marvellously talented Kate Davies. Aren’t they just FAB? Must. Make. I reckon it’d cost about €60 for the two patterns and the shetland yarn. *sigh*

 

Good knitting!

5 Responses to "The yarn that doesn’t want to be knit"

Crochet the pink stuff into a giant granny square blanket! 😉

Some things are just worth it. Just knit Sheeps Heid for now. It’s gorgeous. (Can you hear my silly scottish accent?)

The same happened to me with some yarn. I think I had it for about 3 years, too, before I found the right project. Don’t worry, you’ll find it one day.

And those patterns ARE pretty. I would love to make that blanket!

Love the colour don’t feel so guilty bout my stash now and my almost 20 yr old mohair – sooo 80s and sooo scratchy! I have some great big jumpers from the 80s with huge collars in random mohairy wool, look great with jeans or leggings but not in today’s warm houses you’d just die! I’m surfing these lovely knitting blogs and trying to get reconnected with blogging – mostly tweeting of late – and knitting posts to follow. Will you follow my blog on blogger (I know, you moved to WordPress) at Dispatches from the Deise? Thanks!
Catherine xxx

[…] quite possibly may be a momentous day here. You may remember this post about some yarn I had that didn’t want to be […]

Leave a Reply

