Knit, Inc

Contaminated

Posted on: February 18, 2012

You might have wondered where I’ve been for the last almost 2 weeks. Well. First of all I was really busy in work. That was ok, I kept telling myself I had this week off and I’d be a lady of leisure, with loads of time to catch up on all of the things I’d been neglecting.

Then I got this cough. And I still have it. I have literally spent the entire week on the couch just staring into space. You know that feeling, when you just can’t do anything? Poor Alice got worried when I said I just didn’t want to knit. She thought I must be really ill. I can’t sleep because of the wheezing, and have taken to trying to sleep almost sitting up in the bed. It works for a couple of hours, but then I’m back coughing. I think I’m just going to have to go to the doctor. Only thing is, I have to go back to work on Monday. It’s unfair that I had the week off last week (in my opinion) because it’s so busy, and I think it’d be wrong to leave my boss in the lurch for another week. We’ll see how it goes I guess.

Like I said, there has been virtually no knitting here. Any little bits I did do took ages. Like finishing off these:

A pair of plain jane socks. How hard could these be? I’ve made loads of these socks. My cough addled brain took two goes to get the toe decreases right.

And this one?

These socks are becoming a bit of a trial. The pattern repeat is getting on my nerves, and the ginormo mens foot size isn’t making them move along any faster. I have 11 days to knit the second one, and if this illness continues I doubt very much I’ll have them done. I could have cried with happiness when I reached the toe decreases. On the plus side, it fits hubby perfectly so all good on that front.

 

I’m about up to the armhole on the right front of the Draped Cardigan, not really progress at all. Haven’t knit a stitch on the In & Out socks. *sigh*

 

Remember a little while ago, I drooled over two Kate Davies patterns, Sheep Heid and Rams & Yowes? (Both Ravlinks). Well. Jamieson & Smith brought out the two patterns in a kit with all the yarns! How could I resist. I knew I was going to buy them the minute I saw them, and this way made it easy for me to be able to justify it’s immediate purchase by it being in a kit. I ordered a week ago, and it arrived yesterday morning at 7.30. Score!

This is the pattern booklet:

And this is the yummy scrummy natural Shetland yarn. Isn’t it amazing how many different colours a sheeps fleece can be?

They also included a lovely tourist guide to Shetland, which only makes me want to go for a visit even more. Poor hubby, he’d never survive it. All that yarn and knitting history? I’d probably never come home. Until it got cold, that is.

So I’m thinking I’m going to keep this kit up until I finish all the wips I have, as a kind of carrot on the end of a stick. Sounds like a plan, but then I’ve never been someone who stuck to a plan, have I??

 

Here’s hoping this bloody cough goes away soon and I get back to my old knitting self.

 

Good knitting!

12 Responses to "Contaminated"

Hey, 1 Tablespoon honey, 1 Tablespoon Lemon juice, 1-2 crushed garlic cloves….mixed…….take 1-2 Tablespoons by mouth…should help ease your cough.
Feel better soon.

Love the colour of the red socks , what is the yarn. And omg so jealous here of your Kate kit!

I hope your cough gets much better soon!

For Shetland, perhaps we should get a few knitters together for a trip?

Poor Alice got worried when I said I just didn’t want to knit. She thought I must be really ill.

Oh no! Are you ok!? 🙂

Oh, sorry about the cough! Same on this side of the pond. Two weekends now just collapsed after work. Today, still coughing but not so much. Something called Mucinex (the generic version) has helped a lot. So, buried in laundry, I’ll try to at least dig out today…and maybe knit. Get well soon!!!

Can’t wait to see the blanket. I think the kit is a great idea, cheaper than buying all the balls of yarn separately. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

Do you know http://northernlace.wordpress.com/ ? She’s a lovely designer from that area of the world (though not Shetland itself). I really enjoy her posts about island life, plus all the fiber.

Hope you feel better soon – I just had the Three Week Plague (hope the Irish version’s a bit shorter) and it was no fun at all.

Contami-knitted

Poor you. I’ve had a similar miserable ailment this past week, (headache, bad cough and lots of tissues) so I sympathise. Hope you’re feeling better (and knitting) soon.

BTW, don’t know if it’s relevant, but I heard recently that if you are ill during a period of leave then you can claim back the days at a later time. Guess you might need a cert for that. I’m gutted at all the annual leave I’ve lost over the years by not knowing this info, so I’m passing it on in case it helps someone.

Similarly did not know that you can add bank holidays onto the end of maternity leave. Ah well. Too late for that one!

Those yarns look so scrumptious. Sorry you’ve been sick — I know how it is! And I know you must be very ill indeed if you didn’t feel like knitting 😦 I hope you’re all better soon & back to the sticks!

Get well soon! That Shetland yarn looks gorgeous *yum*

Aw, hope you’re feeling better by now, Sinéad! I’m sure that gorgeous Shetland yarn has been very motivating 🙂

Would you believe I still have the cough? Damn thing is outstaying its welcome 🙂 The Shetland yarn. What can I say. I have it safely out away in my yarnrobe and its not coming out till I finish all my wips. Then I’m going to knit that baby up!

S.

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 49,070 hits
wordpress stat
