Knit, Inc

The best laid plans

Posted on: March 19, 2012

The best laid schemes of Mice and Men
oft go awry,
And leave us nothing but grief and pain,
For promised joy!

– Robert Burns

It’s all in the title, really. Last post I was full of plans for my two days off, and my good samaritan yarn road trip. Sadly, none of that happened. My boss’s Dad had been very ill and he sadly passed away so I had to go into work to cover for him. The funeral was on Sunday so I couldn’t bring Mam & Dad down to Wexford & indulge in some yarn squishing. It was very sad 😦

I was so busy in work I barely got any knitting done, I was so tired by the time I got home. I don’t think I posted a dozen tweets on Twitter either. That’s something, I’m a real chatterbox on there normally. I did get hubbys socks finished though. I actually finished them on March 8, but haven’t had a chance to blog about them. (I haven’t read anybody elses blogs either, I’m SO sorry. I haven’t neglected you, just been AWOL for a bit. Am I forgiven?)

Anyway, back to the socks. Not great photos. It’s really hard to photo red!

Pattern: Garter Ribbing Socks by Charlene Schurch from More Sensational Knitted Socks

Yarn: Berroco Comfort Sock, a smidge over one skein

Needles: 2.5mm dpns

Hubby is delighted with his socks. They look great, but were a slow knit. The pattern isn’t hard, just time consuming with all the switching between knit and purl and also the fact that these bad boys were 80 stitch socks. The yarn however, was another thing. It bled like mad. All over my hands and needles. I looked like an axe murderer, all my nails were red! I soaked them & vinegar rinsed them, and they still bled when I spun them in the machine. I may have to give them a few more washes yet. I just hope that the yarn doesn’t fade as a result.

 

I heard through the gossip mill grapevine that a work friend I haven’t seen in ages is expecting, so I took to the needles straight away to make her a little something. Time and again I turn to the magic that is EZ and her BSJ for a quick, easy and fantastic looking gift. This one is no exception:

Pattern: Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmermann from The Opinionated Knitter

Yarn:Colinette Jitterbug, less than one skein

Needles: 3.5mm

 

Isn’t the colour of the yarn gorgeous? It’s so much richer than in the photo. It’s kind of teal & petrol blues. Mmm. The colourway is called Salty Dog. I love that name. I modded this a little bit to use three needle i-cord bind off across the shoulders and finished it off with an i-cord trim around the rest of the edges. I used some cute silver sparkly buttons to show off the intensity of the yarn. Again with the bleeding of yarn though, I have a blue stripe across my middle finger & my little fingernail. Sigh. Looks like another round of vinegar rinsing for me!

 

I hope you all had a great St. Patricks Day. I spent mine painting the kitchen to finally finish it off, and then cleaning up the mess afterwards. I’m so tired, I could really do with a rest. Hopefully next weekend.

 

Good knitting!

9 Responses to "The best laid plans"

I love the colour of the baby surprise jacket, the new mum will love it.

I’m still shying away from sock knitting but those red ones are divine! I’m amazed by your patience.

You have been busy! I’ve had a lot keeping me away from the needles too. I just don’t have the energy to knit. Shock horror! I love the colours you used. What’s your trick to set the yarn colour?

Socks look great. BSJ-LOVE it. Too bad they bled. Get some rest.

You’re right, red is hard to photograph, but those socks look great! And the baby jacket is adorable. Love the silver buttons!

Fantastic FOs! Such vibrant colours! Hope my jitterbug doesn’t bleed too much on me!

Bleedin’ Jitterbug!

They are lovely FOs. Too bad about the tiredness, and we ‘lose’ an hour next weekend!

Aw, sorry your yarny road trip didn’t go as planned! There’s always a next time though, right? The socks are great, and the colour of that BSJ is DE-lish!

Sorry about your trip and your bosses dad. I love the socks and I love the photo. The color cheered me right up. Wow on the Baby Surprise Jacket. I love the yarn and color !!!

Leave a Reply

