Knit, Inc

Draped Cardigan

Posted on: April 15, 2012

Yep. You guessed it, I’m still choc full of this cold. Cough cough cough all night long. I could give Rudolph a run for his money at the moment too, my nose is so red.

I am thoroughly sick (pardon the pun) of it all. And I’m back to work tomorrow too. *moan*

I have got an FO to show, though:

Pattern: #10 Draped Cardigan by Norah Gaughan from Vogue Knitting Winter 2010/11

Yarn: Berroco Ultra Alpaca and Ultra Alpaca Light. The pattern called for 9 skeins of the ultra alpaca & 2 of the light for the size I made. However, I used 7 and a bit skeins of the former and just a smidge over 1 skein of the latter.

Needles:3.5mm and 4mm circular needles.

I really enjoyed knitting this for the most part. The large amounts of stocking stitch meant for some nice mindless knitting, but oh boy was there a lot of finishing on it. The ruffle took at least 4 hours to do and then all those seams? Oy Vey. It reminded me of why I love seamless knitting 🙂

Alas, it’s a tad too small for me, hence the “zero-action-posed-on-the-table” picture. It will fit soon I hope….

I was also playing around with an idea for another pattern during the week. Sadly, trying to convert the tulip-bud edging from Barbara Walkers Second treasury from flat to in the round and turning the stitch 90 degrees just melted my snot filled brain and it has gone to sit on the naughty step for a while.

So now, what remains on the needles is Alice’s second sock (which is 75% done) and yet to be cast on is the second In & Out Sock. I am very tempted to swatch for the Sheep Heid tam & Rams & Yowes blanket though. Very tempted.

Hopefully the next time I post I shall be rid of this cursed cold and back to my usual less addled self.

Good Knitting!

5 Responses to "Draped Cardigan"

The sweater is very pretty! I sure hope you feel better soon. This has been dragging on!

I can’t believe you finished it already, it doesn’t seem that long ago we were talking about this on twitter! It really is beautiful well done.

Poor you! I hope you’re feeling better today. The cardi is lovely!

Leave a Reply

