Knit, Inc

Cloths & Socks

Posted on: April 24, 2012

The plant pot doily literally flew off the needles after my last post, and blocked out beautifully I think:

Pattern: Apple Leaf Pi Cloth by NightlyKnitter

Yarn: Lion Brand Sock-Ease in Marshmallow, less than half a skein

Needles: 2.5mm dpns

I thoroughly enjoyed knitting this, and I think I’ll be making more. One doily is never enough 🙂 The next ones I’ll be making will be a little smaller in order to fit under smaller pots. For this one though, I think it fits in beautifully:

You can tell I need more – look at the plant beside it sitting on a saucer…

 

The Mr. Jelly clown socks have begun! I wound the yarn and it re-inforced my desire to make something clown-y with it:

Here’s my progress so far:

I’m not that impressed with it to be honest, the pattern isn’t showing up as clearly as I’d like. It’s a series of hooks for Mr. Jelly’s hook hand 🙂 I’ll plod on though. I didn’t do any ribbing at the top, I figured it’d distract from the pattern. I may live to regret that. We’ll see.

 

Good knitting!

8 Responses to "Cloths & Socks"

I love the plant doily.
I would agree that the yarn and pattern for the socks aren’t quite working.

Wow, doilies to sit plants on? I am impressed. I don’t know if I could use something that nice!

Loooove the doily. Really want to make my own now! Maybe an all over yo pattern for the clown yarn, to separate out the colours a bit?

Ah love the doily. It’s a great vintage look without having to knit an heirloom shawl. Score!

(Keep the saucer tho’, you don’t want to water a doily. Oik!)

The doily turned out beautifully! You may not want it a lot smaller because it needs to show!

I’m anxious to see the end result out of the clown yarn. I’m always attracted to yarn like that for some reason but can never think of anything to make with it.

Such a beautiful doily Sinead. I don’t know if I could cover it up with a plant pot. I like the yarn for the socks you never know a few more pattern repeats and it might grow on you?

Sinead, as fast as you knit…the Heart Hat would be an ‘afternoon’ knit!!! It is really fun.

It seems a shame to cover such a lovely doily. I wish I could make something like that.

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 49,406 hits
wordpress stat
