Knit, Inc

A Momentous Day?

Posted on: May 20, 2012

It quite possibly may be a momentous day here. You may remember this post about some yarn I had that didn’t want to be knit.

Well.

I *think* I may have found a suitable pattern for my Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece! I know, can you believe it? The pattern is Ditto (Ravlink)(Berrocolink) by Norah Gaughan. Designer of fabulous plus sized clothing, yarn genius, mathematical wonder and now pesky yarn-saver. Is there nothing she can’t do?

Here’s my progress so far:

I know, it doesn’t look like much. All the action happens at the yoke on this one. But I’m almost there. Only another couple of inches to go to the sleeves. Fingers crossed that this is the final time I have to knit this yarn.

 

In other news, there hasn’t been too much knitting going on. That piece has taken me a while to do. Well, longer than it would normally take me. Dad has been sick. Again. I first brought him to the hospital approx 10 days ago, where he was left on a chair (not even in a bed) for 16 hours before being sent home without treatment or even an examination. Seriously, the health system in this country is in a perilous state. The Irish health and safety authority is criticising hospitals all over the place for the way patients are being treated. I know the country is broke, but seriously. An 89 year old man on a chair for 16 hours in terrible pain and sent home with nothing?? If only I’d been there, but I had to stay with Mam. Hubby stayed with Dad until midnight that night, but had to go home as I had Alice with me & they had school/work the next day. I took the day off and stayed overnight with Mam, which was a trial in itself.

The poor man came home at about midday the next day looking like a skeleton. He seemed to rally after that (or so I thought) but it appears that he was just terrified of going back there.  When I called round yesterday he looked awful. I packed him into the car and brought him to the nearest private hospital. It’s amazing the difference having money can make. I didn’t care how much it cost, I was getting him treated. 4 hours or so later and wallet a bit lighter, he was treated and discharged and feeling a little better. Today he’s improved another bit. It’ll take a few days, but at least he’s on the mend.

I don’t know how we’re going to fix the health system here given the perilous state of the public finances (a fact that I am all t0o aware of given my role) but we *have* to. We just have to.  What happened to my Dad (and I’m sure is happening to countless other elderly people all over the country on a daily basis) is just cruel.

Speaking of my role, another reason for lack of knitting is I’m doing a Diploma in Tax Policy in work. Sounds good, huh? Yeah. I thought so too when I signed up. Holy crap, some of the lectures are *hard*. For example, a 2 hour lecture on Capital Gains Tax that should normally take 6 hours, and almost 2 hours on Stamp Duty. Kill me now. Although I have to say once I get into the nitty gritty of it, it is quite interesting. I think I’m just rusty having been out of school for so long. Hopefully I’ll get back into the swing of it soon, but for now it’s just panic mode.

Oh, one last thing. I said last post about getting the http://knitinc.net domain name and to update your readers. Well, it appears it’s not working (thanks for letting me know, Del!) The only reason I can think of is that it’s set to redirect to this blog which is still hosted at https://knitinc.wordpress.com. I’ll check it out over the next few days.

Good knitting!

Tags:

6 Responses to "A Momentous Day?"

Glad he got treated properly in the end & is feeling better. Love Nora G too!

Oof, that’s an awful trial. (Not sure I could have stood it myself and I’m only 32.) Fingers crossed for him.

Good luck with the schooling!

Good to see the unknittable yarn in a great looking sweater.

I’m really sorry your poor daddy had to go through all that. It’s terrible over here as well if you have an emergency. I’m going by word of mouth on that thankfully.

Good luck in your schooling! Can you knit during lecture? That would surely help I’d think.

Well you did the right thing for your Dad but isn’t it a disgrace! I’m so glad that he’s doing better now.

Yay. That cardigan is ace! Definitely going on my list. Looking forward to seeing the finished item.

I’m so sorry to hear about your dad, though I’m glad he’s doing better now. Unfortunately, money does provide better care no matter where we are.

Try and hang in there — I hope that cardi provides plenty of soothing knitting!

Your poor father. As cmoliver said, those 16 hours would be hard to do myself, never mind a man of his age.

But on a happier note, the knitting looks good.

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 48,566 hits
wordpress stat
