Knit, Inc

Talking Heads

Posted on: June 18, 2012

So last Saturday was World Wide Knit in Public Day. I love WWKIP day, it’s a great chance to meet all  my knitty friends and catch up on all the gossip, as well as getting to knit outdoors. I had planned everything, down to the park permission etc.

On Friday, I was feeling a bit iffy in work. I left my course early as I thought I was going to be sick and wondered if it was just hunger (I hadn’t eaten much over the previous couple of days) or tiredness (neighbours alarm had gone off ALL the previous night).

But no.

On Saturday morning my worst fears were confirmed. It was a migraine. Not just any old migraine, a humdinger of a doozy of a migraine. It was like an out of body experience. I felt like I was looking down at myself in a woozy floaty sort of way. And the light sensitivity. Oh my. And the nausea like rolling waves. Urk. So no WWKIP for me 😦

I’m still not 100% recovered, a little light sensitivity and woozy headedness (is that a word?) remains, but nowhere near as bad. VanDam migraines *shakes fist*.

That was my not-so-good head element of the post. Now for my oh-yes-so-good element.

I present, Sheep Heid!

Pattern: Sheep Heid by Kate Davies

Yarn: Jamieson and Smith Natural Shetland, all 9 shades

Needles: 2.75mm and 3mm dpns and circs

Look at the rams aren’t they fab? And the ewes! Aww.

I blocked it on a dinner plate like I’d seen EZ do, and it turned out perfectly.

My only problem? How on *earth* do you wear a tam? I haven’t a clue.

Attempt no. 1:

Not too bad, I suppose. I have a small head, hats are always too big for me. Plus, I think you’re either a hat person or you’re not, if you know what I mean. Some people just suit hats, and they look magnificent with a creation on their head, and then there’s me. Who doesn’t.

Then I tried the jaunty angle. Yeah. A bit Frank Spencer…

Not my finest look, I think you’ll agree. I think my facial expression says it all.

Then hubby messed with it a bit and said “pull an angry face”. I asked why, and was just told to do it:

God, I’m ugly when I’m angry facing. Anyhoo, he collapsed laughing when I’d done it and sent me this picture:

Millie Tant. She’s a character from a very rude (but hilariously un-pc) UK comic called Viz.

 

Needless to say he’s in the dog house.

 

Good knitting!

3 Responses to "Talking Heads"

Hope you’re feeling better soon – raging not to see you last Saturday. Love Sheep Heid though, well done outta you!

Ohmgod, the hat is STUNNING. And you’ll figure out howe to wear it. It’s just gorgeous.

So sorry you missed your knitting day out. Grrrr!

Hat is fantastic. Attempt No 1 gets my vote! Best for you AND the sheep.

I’m guessing you’re as excited about THIS as I am!

http://katedaviesdesigns.com/2012/06/14/sheep-carousel/

PS: I have those dinner plates!

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 49,406 hits
wordpress stat
