Knit, Inc

Birthday Girl

Posted on: June 24, 2012

It was my birthday on Friday, and hubby managed to spoil me again!

Check out my goodies. A Nikon Coolpix S9100 camera! Squee! Now I’ve no excuse for bad blog photos.

A Sidney the Sheep doorstop! He’s just too cute.

I also managed to finish something myself, my Ditto Cardigan.

Pattern: Ditto Cardigan from Berroco

Yarn: Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece, about 8 skeins

Needles: This is where it gets interesting. I got gauge using 3.5mm and 4mm needles. Did the ribbing in 3.5mm, and was meant to switch to 4mm for the body. The joys of interchangeable needles means I can change one tip at a time when changing size. Only I forgot to change the second tip! I knit the whole thing with one 3.5mm tip and one 4mm tip.

VanDammit.

Mods: Apart from the needle mess, I decided to pick up for the buttonband and just did a plain garter stitch band. The pattern directs you to knit the band separately and then sew it on (!). Hell no to that. So I picked up and did about 8 ridges of garter. Looks fine I think. I didn’t do any buttonholes as the fit is snug so I reckon I’ll just wear it as an overcardigan with no closure. Should be fine that way.

I’m not too happy with the neckline though, I think it’s very loose looking:

 We’ll see how it wears. I haven’t blocked it yet, so maybe that will sort it out. Otherwise as a casual wear cardi it should be ok. Put it this way, I am not ripping this sucker again!

Now on to my next project. Hmm. I do have a bit of a list that includes an afghan for my bed, a mobile phone case for Alice and I could always start knitting for the big C presents, but I think I’ll blithely ignore them and maybe knit the Rams and Yowes blanket, or a nice pair of socks (lets not mention the Aquaphobia socks that are mocking me from their project bag) or maybe a nice piece of whimsy lace.

Decisions decisions! I’m off to browse the Ravelry pattern database. 🙂

Good knitting!

4 Responses to "Birthday Girl"

Happy late birthday! Hope you had the best day ever!

Your Ditto Cardigan is beautiful! Such a pretty color! I love your Sidney the Sheep too! I catch myself looking at sheep stuffed toys, pillows and the like. Sometimes they follow me home! And your camera is perfect! My favorite camera case is a soap box, like the kind you’d put a bar of soap in for camp. It’s a hard, plastic case that’s cheap too. It keeps my camera safe in my purse.

Sounds like your birthday was celebrated like it should have been!

Happy birthday hon!

Happy Birthday! How do you pronounce your name? Have I asked you that before?
I have a knitting question that you might be able to answer. I am reading through a Janet Szabo pattern on making a cabled/aran sweater. I am understanding everthing (I think) BUT after knitting in ROWS and following the est. pattern, she has you join and knit in the round and continue in the establish pattern. So at that point do I skip the (WS) ‘rows’ and just knit the (RS) ‘rows’? Do you have any thoughts on that?
Thanks, Lou

Ooh, I can’t wait to see your blanket. And I love the idea of an overcardigan, something to just throw on.

Leave a Reply

