Knit, Inc

Medaltastic

Posted on: August 7, 2012

My medal haul is beginning to build up. Here’s my medal for the sweater triathlon for the Ruched Yoke Tee I made for Alice:

I haven’t sat on my laurels since then, oh no. I added another medal to my tally for this beauty:

Pattern:Flared Baby Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmermann from Knit One, Knit All

Yarn: Araucania Ruca Multy, 1 skein

Needles: 4mm

I loved this project. Super quick and easy but very pretty too. Here’s the back:

Aww. Shame I have no babies to give it to! It bagged me this:

Woo! I am an Olympian šŸ˜€

 

My third medal attempt is much more complicated. I decided to stick with Knit One, Knit All and to try the Sideways Gloves. Here is the first glove before you begin the seaming of the fingers. Looks like nothing on earth!

After 3 attempts I managed to get my head around the instructions and seamed the fingers together. It sure is complicated, but once you get the hang of it I think they look great. (This pic was taken on Mams hospital bed)

And here is the first glove finished the other night while watching the athletics:

I have to say they are *super* comfy. The short rows mirror your knuckles and thumb so they literally fit like a glove. I wasn’t fast enough though and Alice has already nabbed them for her. That girl is quick.

 

In Mam news, she’s still in hospital, the poor lamb, and is very confused. She thinks she’s at home and gets annoyed & upset when you tell her she’s not. Hopefully today I’ll get to talk to the physiotherapist and see what we can do to get her home. I’m not so sure that it’s the best thing for her,Ā  but it’s not up to me. She’s still very weak. The stress is beginning to get to me now, I’m finding it hard to cope. Deep breaths and lots of knitting will hopefully see me through this.

 

Good knitting!

3 Responses to "Medaltastic"

Your knitting looks grand! Best wishes for your Mam…the only good thing about hospitals is the knitting time it gives you, I swear.

Wow. Gloves are amazing! Well done you. Is that Drops Alpaca? The orange looks familiar!

So sorry you have such a load to bear at the moment. It’s really tough

The Physio is probably working in tandem with an Occupational Therapist who will assess how your Mam will cope at home and should be clued into whatever supports she needs. Best of luck!

Look at you go! What was your final medal count?

Leave a Reply

