Knit, Inc

Still on a Roll

Posted on: August 12, 2012

It’s been an eventful week here, lots going on.

First of all, I finished my final Ravellenics entry on Wednesday, in plenty of time to claim my third medal. This one is the Mitten Medley:

Pattern: Sideways Gloves by Elizabeth Zimmermann from Knit One, Knit All

Yarn: Zettl Treviso sock wool, less than 1 skein

Needles: 3mm Knit Picks Harmony Options, two sets

This was a difficult pattern to master. The fingers are ingeniously worked but a bugger to understand! Once I got the first glove finished I was ok I think, but I got a bit lost around the directions to reverse the short row shaping for the second glove. I ended up doing the same as the first hand and just turning the glove “inside out”. Works for me! Alice is delighted with them. Definitely a pattern I’ll do again… I’m thinking I could get all funky with it and maybe do the fingers in different colours or a lacier cuff, or maybe a nice cable cuff. Loads of possibilities.

I needed a new pattern for hospital knitting that isn’t my Rams & Yowes blanket (that deserves a post all of its own for the dramaz), so I decided to dig into my cavernous sock wool stash and just do a plain jane pair of socks. My sock mojo has left me for another knitter I think, I just haven’t wanted to knit socks at all recently. This is not good, as most of my stash is sock wool, and what would I do without socks on the go? Not to mention my poor cold feet in the winter all the time.

The weather for the last two days has been glorious so I sat in the garden the other evening with a glass of wine & cast on. Bliss.

 

As usual in Ireland, the good weather hasn’t lasted long. It’s raining as I type. What a surprise. I’m using Brown Sheep Wildfoote sock yarn, in the Columbine colourway. Here’s my progress so far; I’ve turned the heel & worked the gusset of the first sock already. It’s amazing the amount you can get done when sitting at someones bedside, especially when it’s just plain knit, knit, knit.

In fantastic news, look what I got on Thursday! A NEW CAR!!!!!!

Isn’t she a beauty?? It’s a (did I say brand new?) Toyota Auris Hybrid. My first ever new car. I’m a proud mama. I was a little wistful saying goodbye to my old gas guzzling Chrysler Sebring, she served me well, but the time had come to move onwards and upwards. I got such a good deal on this car that I couldn’t say no. 🙂 Plus it should save me a *fortune* on petrol, being a tree-hugging hybrid. I’ve been zipping around the place since Thursday with a huge grin on my face. So much so that hubby says it’s not running on petrol, but on smug fumes!

 

The car has been the highlight of an otherwise crappy week to be honest. Dad & I went to a team meeting in the hospital about Mam, where they basically said Mam will never recover her strength & in their opinion should go into a nursing home. I have to say I agree, I think it’s too much for Dad to provide 24 hour care for someone at his age. Ultimately it’s his decision however, and he insisted on her coming home. So, lots of work needs to be done to the house. The bedroom has to be moved downstairs, a downstairs bathroom needs to be installed, we need to get a commode, walker and wheelchair and the stairs need to be blocked off to prevent Mam attempting to go up.

It’s so sad to see Mam reduced to this, but we’ll somehow have to manage. I’ve contacted all the relevant authorities to see if I can get more help for Dad, but I’m not exactly hopeful given the state of the Health Service budget in this country. I don’t know what else to do, I really can’t give them any more time. I’m neglecting my own family, home and marriage as it is and it’s not fair on them. But I can’t go against my Dad, he is her next of kin. Fun times ahead, I think.

4 weeks down, 3 more to go of my 7 weeks off, and I’ve had precisely *no* time to myself or with Alice. 😦

Oh! The Fall issue of Interweave Knits landed on my doorstep the other day. I will delude myself and pretend I’m going to get a chance to do a review of it.

Good knitting!

4 Responses to "Still on a Roll"

I know I follow you on Twitter but I don’t think I’ve replied to your blog before, just saying I love your mitts, socks and above all car! Lucky you! I am upgrading but to a newer car not a new one in the next few weeks, thank you Credit Union! I also hope you sort things out for your mam, and that you have a really good supportive Public Health Nurse – believe me it helps, I try to be one for many of my patients and families and they do value the advice and support. Hope you’re getting enough home support and don’t forget there’s always the Home Care Package Scheme to tap into. Best of luck in it anyway.
Catherine xxx

Lots going on in your life I see! Love the car – strength and luck with arranging everything for your Mam. Virtual hugs!

Lovely items ! I always wondered about those gloves. I think I will leave them to the experts. I love the sock yarn and especially the color. Congratulations to your purchase of the new car !!! I am very familiar with Toyotas but not the Auris. Please don’t laugh but I actually purchased a Chrysler Sebring (just about 3 months ago) and I love it. You are correct, it does use a bit more gas but I’m okay with that. I will have to post a photo of it. It’s gorgeous and feels a bit like luxury. I hope you visit my blog soon. Carolyn

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 49,042 hits
wordpress stat
