Knit, Inc

And now, the end is near…

Posted on: September 1, 2012

Well that was the seven weeks off that wasn’t. Blink & I missed it. Too much drama meant I didn’t even get 1 day to myself or go to 1 yarn store. Boo.

Looking back I did get plenty of knitting done so it’s not all bad. The other day hubby was browsing You Tube and found this video. I have no idea what he was searching for when he found it, but I was glad he did! Sheep nails! I decided I had to try them. Now I’m no nail artist, I can barely paint them plain, but it was fun trying & making a mess of it. By the way, this photo makes my fingers look like the Michelin Mans. I have *no* idea why they look that big. Blame it on the camera setting? I dunno, but those chunky lumps aren’t normally mine!

I think they turned out more like Pac Man ghosts than sheep, but hey.

I whipped this cowl up the other day using just under one skein of the fabulous, squishy, yummy Cascade Eco Cloud. This yarn is ridiculously soft, like sinfully soft.

Pattern: Ashford Cowl by the lovely Nicola Faull such a quick and easy pattern that looks great too.

Yarn: Cascade Eco Cloud, just under 1 skein (mmm)

Needles: 5.5mm and 5mm.

I modded it a little bit to add an extra repeat of the chart in the middle, just so I could use up the whole skein. It’s so soft, I am almost looking forward to it being cold enough to wear it. I said almost.

You may remember this post when I discovered a twist in my Rams and Yowes blanket? I finally bit the bullet and decided to sort it out. I thought long and hard about this and decided that I had to fix the twist before I went any further as it would just drive me nuts the longer the blanket got.

I went all MacGyver on it and crocheted up either side of the piece:

Then I crossed everything and got out the scissors:

And voila! A flat piece of knitting:

It’s not a perfect job, but I can fix it up later on. At least I can continue with the blanket. Once I got over the shock of what I’d done, I ploughed back into it and it’s flying along now:

I’ve finished the first lot of sheep and the two sets of rams. All I have left is another repeat of the sheep and then the cutting begins again before the picking up and knitting of the edges. Phew!

 

So work is beckoning on Monday and I know I’ll be up to my eyes in it from the start. But I’ll just have to put on my big girl panties and deal with it I guess. Alice was back in school yesterday, she’s in 6th class now (the last year in primary school before secondary) and she’s going to “rule the school” according to her. Bless. She’s not my kid, I had to be dragged into school but she was so excited to go back. Long may it last!

 

Good knitting!

5 Responses to "And now, the end is near…"

Cute nails….although I have to admit I thought it was Shaun the sheep.

That is one stunning blanket! (and well done on getting the scissors out – I have started 3 projects that need steeking… and never managed to get to the scissors stage!)

Boo for going back to work 😦

Love your nails. Love your Ewes and your rams (and your new steeking skills). Love the squishy soft cowl, too.

Love the nails, I’d never have the patience for that. Also how did you do your right hand? Super impressed. And the blanket is just fabulous, can’t wait to see it finished. I am so jealz of your mad knitting skillz.

Lovely cowl hon. Glad you like ithe pattern and thanks for the shout out.

Yeah, I had to put my big girl pants on a while back so I smypathise. My eldest is in 6th class too, so we are on the same track schoolwise. It’s gonna be a rollercoaster year, wot with puberty advancing etc. Yikes!

Sheep nails are amazing and your Rams and Ewes with steeking rescue is even amazinger.

Thanks goodness for knitting. ;-D

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 49,046 hits
wordpress stat
