Knit, Inc

Snip Snip

Posted on: September 12, 2012

After coming down from my nomination high, I got back to business & attacked the Rams & Yowes blanket. I finished the fair isle section on Sunday night. Oh boy were there lots of ends to weave in!

Thank goodness for The West Wing. It held my hand & got me through the weaving. I think there was two episodes worth there!

Then it was on to the business end of things. The steek. *Insert music of dread here*.  It was enough to send me looking for some fortification of the wine kind.


It took me three goes with different yarns to get the right combination before the crochet steek would work. It was very fiddly trying to crochet it, it took me quite some time to get it right. But, I got it eventually and could put off the moment of truth no longer. It was snip time! I took a gulp of pinot grigio and wielded my scissors. Every time I steek I’m always reminded of Elizabeth Zimmermann. On one of her DVDs she steeks an aran cardigan and makes the most delicious ugh-ew noise when she snips the first few stitches. Summarises my feelings exactly!

BUT, look! I steeked it! And it worked!

Look at that gorgeous rectangle of shetland sheepy deliciousness. Mmm. I’m over the moon with it so far.

Now I’m on to the drudge part of it – the edging. The pattern calls for a specific number of stitches to be picked up – 780 I think. I just couldn’t be bothered counting that much so I picked up my usual ratio & got to it. Either way it’s a whole ton of stitches! The fabric is really hard to move around the needles, I have to keep pushing it around. It’s taking me over an hour to knit a row and it’s only going to get worse as you increase 8 stitches every second round. Sheesh! I’m only kept going by the knowledge that it’s going to be amazing when it’s done.

In other news, I’ve had a lightning bolt of design inspiration. In my head is a garment that’s just fab. All I need to do is get it out of my head and onto paper. I don’t fancy my chances of it turning out like it looks in my head, but I’ve got to try. If it does work, it’ll be *fab*.

 

Good knitting!

4 Responses to "Snip Snip"

Wow! just wow! I cower in the reflected light of your Awesome!!
😀

That’s gorgeous. Well done. Looking forward to seeing your fab vision come to life!

I can’t wait to see it finished. Can I ask what your “usual ratio” is?

Leave a Reply

