Knit, Inc

Pumpkin Pie of Wondrousness

Posted on: October 18, 2012

Last night I got an itch to bake. I know, I thought, I’ll make Pumpkin Pie. Off I went to the cupboards to get my ingredients. Only I didn’t have enough eggs, or any evaporated milk šŸ˜¦

Undaunted, I improvised. And it was GOOD. So, I thought I’d share the Wondrousness:

Ingredients

3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon mixed spice
1 large egg
1 can Pumpkin
1 can condensed milk

I made shortcrust pastry & blind baked it for about 20 mins.

Directions

MIX sugar, cinnamon, salt, ginger and mixed spice in a small bowl. Beat egg in another bowl. Stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mixture. Gradually stir in condensed milk.

Pour into pie shell.


BAKE in preheated 200C oven for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 180C & bake for 40 to 50 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean.


Cool on wire rack for 2 hours. (If you can wait that long!) Serve immediately or refrigerate. Top with whipped cream before serving.


Enjoy!!!

2 Responses to "Pumpkin Pie of Wondrousness"

Ooh, I bought my first pumpkin of the ‘season’ today. I used this recipe last year and made my first ever pumpkin pie, it turned out great!
http://www.pickyourown.org/pumpkinpie.php

this sounds delicious. total pie envy right now. if you werent using a tin of pumpkin pie, what is the equivalent in real pumpkin I wonder? Just chop and blend it all up to a purƩe?

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 49,042 hits
wordpress stat
