Knit, Inc

Beary Comfy Jumper

Posted on: December 15, 2012

I got a smack of a bit of creativity during the week when I was trawling my stash looking for a pattern for a stocking stuffer for Alice. I’ll make a jumper for her bears, I thought. I dug out the pattern I’ve used before and looked at it. Hmm. This pattern always annoys me because it’s knit flat in one piece and then seamed down the sides and the sleeves. It’s also fiddly because you work from both ends of the yarn at the same time to do the neck.

Now you all know I hate seaming, so I decided to make up a pattern of my own that by-passes the seams 🙂

And that’s how the Beary Comfy Jumper was born!

DSCN0820

This pattern is knit in the round based on Elizabeth Zimmermann’s genius EPS system, so the only seams you have to sew are a few stitches under each arm. It’s also a really quick knit as it uses bulky weight yarn. Perfect!

This jumper fits a Bear Factory bear that has a chest measurement of 18”, a neck of 13” and a torso length of 7” but you can customise it to fit a smaller bear by using lighter weight yarn. If you want to make him, you will need 1 skein of James C Brett Passion[ 70% acrylic, 30% wool; 160yds per 100gm skein] in shade P1, a US #10/6 mm 16” circular needle and dpns.

DSCN0823

Go on. You know you want to make a bear nice and warm this winter. The pattern is free, and available here: Click to Download!

I bet this would be great for a new baby too!

Good knitting!

5 Responses to "Beary Comfy Jumper"

I’m giving my niece and nephew build a bear vouchers for Christmas so I can see this in my knitting future 🙂

I love this! What a lucky bear!

Absolutely adorable !!! Luv it !

Adorable! Great job!!

DS is a teenager and knitting or teddies are sooooo uncool… but maybe I should take pity on my own, nearly 50 year old teddy? and give him something new to wear?:) nobody wants to wear the same stuff for half a century:)

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 49,042 hits
wordpress stat
