Knit, Inc

Consistency (in a world gone mad)

Posted on: February 17, 2013

Wow. I haven’t blogged since December 15. That must be an all-time record of absence for me. I apologise, dear readers, for my slovenly ways. Hence the ironic post title.

In my defence, I have been insanely busy. I could type a never-ending post about all the shizz that has gone down, but let’s just gloss over that and pretend like I’ve never been away. Sound good? Excellent. One good thing about a protracted absence is that I’ve a bounty of FOs to show!

I managed to squeeze this item out in time for Christmas, to go with Alice’s Harry Potter wand:

DSCN0826

Pattern: Bill’s Dragon Skin Wand Case from Charmed Knits

Yarn: Left over Knit Picks Imagination hand dyed yarn in the appropriately titled Pixie Dust, held double.

Needles: 3.75mm

I loved this project. It was quick and easy and turned out really well.  A prefect stocking filler.

I suppose I must have been on a bit of a high from the wand case success, because I decided to try and knit a Harry Potter house cardigan for Alice. When we were in the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in November, we saw cardigans in the stores, for I think $80 each! The merchandise was insanely expensive. Anyway, Alice had scoffed at them and said “You could knit that Mammy”. How could I let her down after that compliment? In Charmed Knits the house sweater pattern is for a v neck jumper and I wanted to make a cardigan, so I decided to make up the pattern myself. Yes, I was feeling a bit mad. But, I think it turned out ok in the end, no?

DSCN0839

Here’s the back:
DSCN0831

I used miscellaneous grey DK that I had in my stash, Berroco Comfort sock for the red stripes and SWTC Jezebel for the yellow stripes. I held both yarns double.

She LOVES it, so I guess that’s the main thing. I have the pattern written up for sizes S to 5X, I just need to make some math adjustments. When I’ll get around to that, I don’t know. I may not even bother, it depends on demand I guess.

Right after Christmas, I got some GREAT news of maximum awesomeness. About 8 months previously, the local parish priest had approached me about nominating Dad for a Benemerenti medal. (Don’t worry, I didn’t know what it was either). Well, word came down from the Papal Nuncio just after Christmas that it had been awarded. I was so happy for Dad, there has been some major stuff going on recently and this is just what he needed. Plus, he’s 90 (!) next month, so what a fantastic early birthday present! You could have knocked him over with a feather when I told him, it was lovely. I brought him out to buy a new suit for the occasion and I knew I had to knit him a special vest. I made this in ONE week guys. God knows how, but I did it.
IMG_0592

It fit him like a glove and he loved it. A shame I don’t have any better pictures of it on him on the night, but there were other things on my mind. This is probably my favourite shot from the night, it was right after the mass, and the relief is written all over his face. Aw. I’m so proud of my Dad.

DSC_2047

Moving on swiftly, it’s Alice’s confirmation in April. I wanted to have something hand knit for her to wear, so I settled on a wrap as her dress is sleevelss. I think it turned out fab:

IMG_0607

Pattern: Seascape Stole by Kieran Foley

Yarn: Lang Yarns Alpaca Superlight, about 2 & 1/3 skeins. It’s delish.

Needles: 4mm

I bought her a dress for the confirmation while in Florida, and decided to let her wear it for Dad’s medal mass. When she put it on I noticed it was a *lot* shorter than when I’d bought it! This child just never stops growing. It’s killing me. So, I said why not get some more wear out of it while we can. I brought her to see Starlight Express last week, and we both got glammed up. I let her wear the stole and she thought she was the cat’s miaow. Aww. My little girl is getting so grown up.

IMG_0602

A final FO to show now; some baby knitting:

IMG_0605

Pattern: Trellis by Britta Stolfus Rueschhoff. I made the 6 month size.

Yarn: Cascade Sierra, two skeins. LOVE this yarn.

Needles: 4.5mm

I didn’t enjoy this pattern very much. I made a ton of mods that you can read about on my Ravelry project page.

That’s all the FOs I have to show, and I’ve one WIP on the needles. The ever present pair of socks. These were originally meant to be a present for Dad, but I think the lace makes them a bit too “girly” so I’m going to keep them for myself. they’re Elongated Corded Rib socks from Sensational Knitted Socks. They’re moving along nicely.

IMG_0609

I think I need a lie down after all that posting! See you all soon I hope.

Good knitting!

4 Responses to "Consistency (in a world gone mad)"

Welcome back! I’d wondered after you…!

The pic of you and your Dad is so lovely I got a lump in my throat. Fabulous knitting, Seascape Stole, Wizarding, Trellis an’ all! 😉

Beautiful FOs. Hope you’re going to do a review of a mag soon – as soon as I saw the VK one I thought of you!!

My kids are growing like weeds, too. It’s almost unfair, until I think about getting my house back. Lovely projects, as always.

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 49,406 hits
wordpress stat
