Knit, Inc

Long Weekend

Posted on: March 15, 2013

Yipee! It’s a long weekend here as it’s St. Patricks Day on Sunday. So far the plan is to do lots of precisely nothing. I think I can manage that.

It’s been crazy busy in work for the last 5 weeks, I’m just exhausted. I’ve been averaging 60 hours weeks and I’m frazzled. In FANTASTIC news though, I got promoted! WOOT! It’s only temporary until at least October, but I’m just over the moon. This was my 8th attempt at promotion to this level, so I’m just relieved I finally got it! Sadly, it’ll mean no term time this year, so I’ll be working through the summer. Apart from my holidays of course. August 1-21 I shall be generally melting in the Floridian sun and humidity. Can’t wait!

So, down to knitting news. I have a couple of FOs to show and a couple of Wips too. First up, I knocked up a Wingspan:
DSCN0895

Pattern: Wingspan by Tri’Coterie Designs

Yarn: Lang Jawoll Magic, 1 skein in yummy autumn brown/gold shades

Needles: 3.5mm

This pattern was a bitch to knit. It’s mindless knitting to be sure, but I just had a dose of the brainfarts when I was making it. I continually forgot to cast on the additional stitches when I began a new triangle, which I often only discovered when I’d knit the whole triangle. Much ripping and swearing went on.

These socks were a long time coming:

DSCN0899

Pattern: Elongated Corded Rib by Charlene Schurch from Sensational Knitted Socks

Yarn: Lang Jawoll Sock, 1 and a quarter-or-so skeins

Needles: 2.5mm dpns

These socks took m 3 months. THREE MONTHS. I just kept putting them down and starting other things, such as the Wingspan above. I think I lost my sock mojo for a bit after Christmas. I’m slowly but surely trying to knit every sock pattern in the fantabuloso Sensational Knitted Socks and it’s wunder sister, More Sensational Knitted Socks. I just adore these books, and there’s a humungous number of patterns in them. I have a little spreadsheet done up and I’m marking each one off as I go. I wonder how long it’ll take me to knit them all??

I’m sure I’ve mentioned that it’s Alice’s confirmation next month. In fact, I know I did as I posted her Seascape Wrap, right? Well, I thought, she can’t be the only one wearing a super exclusive Knit, Inc pattern on the day. Oh no, I’m going to knit myself something equally show stopping. I was gifted the pattern for Jared Flood’s gorgeous Rock Island shawl by the most lovely R, and I thought this is the perfect occasion for it. So I cast on. And stagnated:

DSCN0898

Not very impressive, I think you’ll agree. It’s only a couple of weeks away, and there’s no hope that I’ll get it done on time. Sigh. Bad Knitter!

I have cast on for another pair of socks for the Sensational Sock Project:

DSCN0897

These are Openwork Rib socks. FLYING along, flying I tells ya. Dead easy and nice looking too. Although, as you can see from the picture, they seem to be twisting on the needles. I wonder why?

In EZ news, look what arrived this week:

DSCN0896

Yep, Wool Gathering! Woot! And just look at the fair isle pillows! Sigh. I want to make them all, NOW. Especially the one in the top left. Mmm. A perfect stashdown project too, I think. I have tons of scraps that could be used. Sigh. Just gorgeous. Meg the marvel strikes again.

 

Good knitting!

3 Responses to "Long Weekend"

congrats for the promotion – I just hope it doesn’t cut too badly into your knitting time – or it’s a bad omen for all the socks you still have to do:) I had a similar plan for the two sock books by Janel Laidman – but scrapped the idea after a few months, because I wasn’t getting anywhere…. love the wool gathering though – I think I have to go on a pattern hunt – now!

Congratulations! And wow, you’ve gotten tons of knitting done too! Love all the projects!

Congratulations on your promotion! Love those cushions, but that would be a lot of intarsia…

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 49,406 hits
wordpress stat
