Knit, Inc

Surprise!

Posted on: April 21, 2013

I’m sure, like me, you have your go-to pattern when you feel the urge to knit something. For me it’s EZ’s Baby Surprise Jacket. I just love the puzzle and even after all this time I still never quite know how it’s going to turn out. This one gave me a bigger surprise than normal though. I had 2 skeins of Blue Sky Alpacas Worsted Cotton in a dark green shade. Lovely, I thought. Em. No. I ran out of yarn with just 9 rows left to go! Disaster!

I stash dove & found that the only other similarly weighted cotton I had was Sugar n Cream in really bright shades. Twitter to the rescue. The lovely Isobel suggested I use yellow. I trusted her, and I’m so glad I did. So much so that I decided to use the yellow to trim the cuffs with applied icord and to join the shoulders using three needle icord. Doesn’t it look great?
DSCN0913

All it needs now is some cute buttons and it’s all set. Genius pattern. Genius.

In other amazing EZ news, her grandson Cully has designed a circular, stranded, steeked BSJ! OMG! The minute I heard about this I just had to order it. I got it direct from Schoolhouse Press (second pattern down). I can’t wait to get it and cast on! Woo!

 

I might have mentioned that I fell off the stashdown bandwagon a couple of weeks ago. Yes. My bad. I shouldn’t have done it, but I ended up on the Wollmeise website on update day, caved in and bought a mystery bag of yarn. This is what I got:

DSCN0914

This one is a bit bright for me. I’m definitely more of a solids gal. If anyone wants to swap this for a solid coloured skein, get in touch!

DSCN0916

This one is way more up my street. Mmm. Lovely shades of red. I love red. I’ll have to find a nice pattern for it.

Work on the bluebell rib socks had stalled while I fulfilled my baby knitting urge. I’ll get back to them now.

 

In other news, Alice made her confirmation on Wednesday. Bless. My little girl is definitely not little any more. She looked so grown up! We had a party in the house for the family yesterday and she looked just beautiful in her dress with her hair done in curls. She’s definitely blossoming at the moment. Sniff.

 

Good knitting!

3 Responses to "Surprise!"

Ohhh that Circular Stranded Steeked Surprise is just fabbo. Can’t wait to see what you do with it. (and I might just have to get it myself).

I know, it looks fab, right? I just had to order it. Can’t wait to get my hands on it!

Oh my goodness, that yarn is gorgeous. What would you like for trade?? I would totally love to have that yarn.

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Blog Stats

  • 49,497 hits
wordpress stat
