Knit, Inc

Discoveries

Posted on: May 1, 2013

Discoveries can be good and bad things, depending on what it is that you discover. This last week brought me to both sides of discovery gorge, craft wise.

First of all, I picked up my bluebell rib socks again. I powered along with the foot and when I reached the toe, I got all excited. Yipee! I thought. Another pair of socks done for my Sensational Sock Project. I felt really good about myself.

DSCN0920

When I cast off, I went looking for the other one so I could try them on and take a photo for this here blog. Emm. I couldn’t find it anywhere.
DSCN0919

I had tidied up flung all my knitting stuff into a basket and dumped it into the craft room before the party for Alice’s confirmation last weekend. Maybe it was in there? Nope. I searched high and low for the damn sock to no avail. For some reason I decided to look in the little project bag that held the finished sock, just in case, even though I knew it wasn’t in there. Hmm, I thought. That leftover ball of yarn looks suspiciously big for one that has been used to knit two socks. *CLANG* The penny dropped. I discovered that the sock I had just finished was the first one. VanDammit.

 

In a fit of pique I decided I was going to tidy out the craft room, because it was clearly the rooms fault that I thought I had knit the first sock already. Well, well, well. What did I discover??
DSCN0921
I only went & found a copy of the elusive Peapod Baby Set by Kate Gilbert! Woo! What a find! For some bizarre reason this pattern just vanished from the Interweave site and Kate never republished it. Very strange. But! I found my copy! What a discovery. I rummaged in the woolrobe and skipped downstairs, sock forgotten. I’m going to give this a go using this yarn I have leftover from a Phyllo Yoke Sweater I knit forever ago:

 

DSCN0922

I have 3 balls of this ggh safari yarn in a lovely soft green. Just like peas. It’s a linen polyamide blend, so should be suited to machine washing. I just hope it turns out ok, I found it a bit stringy before. But, I shall soldier on, delighted with my discovery.

It’s not the only gem I discovered, oh no. I also found this:
DSCN0926

This here is crochet guys. The Patchwork Throw by Erika Knight, to be precise.  Mmm-hmm. I know. But look. Look at the colours and the hexagons that appeal to my inner laws of straightness. It’s gorgeous. And a super stashbusting project! Woo! Another fab discovery. I cast on (hooked on?) for this one too, only this one is a bit moody. Well, ok. I’m sure the pattern is fine, it’s just me that sucks at crochet. Fairly epically. See:

DSCN0923
Not very hexagon-y, I think you’ll agree. Not to be defeated, I ploughed on. It didn’t get any better.

DSCN0924

They remind me of a group of jellyfish, with their tentacles hanging down. But that’s another show. Still determined, I brought my “hexagons” and the pattern into work today & consulted a crochet guru. Armed with a harmony stitch guide and a charted (!) version of this hexagon I am about to re-enter the foray.

 

Cover me guys, I’m going in. This might get ugly.

 

Good knitting (or hooking)!

4 Responses to "Discoveries"

Second socks exist to send us a little crazy… Good luck with your crochet blanket. It looks beautiful. I only know enough crochet to make the ears for a pair of mouse doll slippers.

ummh, somehow I know that crochet pattern… like it myself – a lot, but not enough to start another one right now. I am still ploughing on with the hexies for the other one, and mine look just like yours! I think I’ll have to pin them all up before putting them together, just to get the corners less round – or I’ll have to work with hexacles:) is that what’s called freeform? and I so know the feeling about those darn socks! finished one sneaker toe-up, thought it looked a bit bare and added a ruffle… hm, yeah, great, only now the ruffle doesn’t exactly keep the short thing up! so ruffle had to go, ended up with a boring, but stretchy rib…tought me a lesson about “mindless” knitting… it helps, if head is switched on ever so slightly!
happy knitting – for the 2nd sock, and good luck with your hexacles:)

Oooh, a crochet blanket! Baby-sized, or are you diving head-first into the adult-sized blanket pool of crazy? 🙂 As for the non-hexagonishness, maybe try assembling a few of them together? See if it helps?

Damn there being no second sock, but the colour is just gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

